Mikes Places |||

going to Phnom Penh

The big city. One night and an appointment at the American embassy. My wife does some shopping. The big Central Market has her interest.

central marketcentral market

The main reason is because we will go to another Cambodian wedding party when we get back. She wants to buy me a new dress shirt (ugh). It seems I have lost weight and the clothes bought a year ago don’t work any longer. The wedding parties are eating, drinking, dancing events. Usually we go for a few hours and get a tuktuk home.

So I get a hotel room downtown for us. We ride the minivan there and back. Ten hours of riding for an hours work at the embassy that costs $50. There is only one embassy office in the country so when Americans need something a trip is required.

Living here is always this mix and friction of dealing with American entities. Embassies are not bad places but the limits of what can be done online is exasperating at times.


Flash forward to getting home. It’s quiet here. People gone. Have had one thing to occupy my overthinking brain since yesterday. Can’t really say yet. My wife vacillates from happiness to stress over it. So instead she looks at gowns she has for this wedding party after we get back from the city.

I’ve kinda felt under this cloud since the news came. I wish I could just spill it over from the journal. It’s just not time yet. Like most things it’s a mix of good and bad. Each one sometimes takes over.

In a few weeks I’ll know. Then will know what I’ll do. No matter what, June will be interesting.

For sure I will be glad to be done with Phnom Penh. It’s too big and noisy and crowded. I do like some of the scenes like this.

Phnom Penh againPhnom Penh again

With only two days there we won’t have time to do sightseeing and touristy things. We will turn around and come home after I’m done with the embassy.

Just in time for the wedding party.

Up next family cafe times this journal thing One of the things since I returned to blot for blogging is the ease of creating words wherever and moving them around. I use this little markdown
Latest posts this leaking roof coming home it was with Thursday words and wisdom today I see my daughter in law Monday before Saturday Walking Friday follies our thursday Wednesday morning writing not a move in sight getting the weather reading along moments that come this journal thing going to Phnom Penh family cafe times it’s my job days of ups and downs day by day is the way getting my words back testing again welcome back to blot