Mikes Places |||

day by day is the way

When we got back from the island I knew we would talk about some things. Having a Cambodian wife can, be different, same and both. One of the things which has come up is friendship. My wife has this Khmer friend that married a rich American, guy. I’ve met both of them and can honestly say I don’t like them.

What I’ve found more than a few times is if you base a relationship on money or things what you end up with is neither. Like me I guess. I dealt with her husband for hours of him telling me how he excelled at everything he ever did. Made millions. Had girl friends around the world. Worked with the White House on things. I’ve never done those things. When I left America I gave up the things. My ex wife could have them all. What I figured out is if you have nothing your needs are very few. So going to asia years ago was easy. I just went.

There’s nothing I did or did not do that was special to go. I made certain arrangements with different entities. Made it possible for me to easily go as I wished. Many would be retiree expats puzzle over similar things. I just found pathways to have what I needed back in America. They’ve worked flawlessly since.

I will say it is easier to just lose everything, pack up and go with nothing than figuring out houses, cars, property, stuff. The rule has been if it does not fit in the duffle it ain’t going. Luckily memories, moments and experiences are easy to pack.

If you want to go. To find a simpler, kinder, gentler life anyone can do it. I did it. Southeast Asia welcomed me. I was just another old retired guy with nothing. Soon though I must say Vietnam grabbed me. It has never let go. I think we all need one place which is a refuge. The place to duck away and have the ice cream sundae like I did in Saigon one day when I felt sad. Of course Hanoi always was the place. Evenings gave me a view out and it was hard to feel morose when seeing west lake on display.

Hanoi eveningHanoi evening


Now I have her. This wonderful Cambodian woman. A thing which brightens my day to day. It is still the way of it all though. It is the way.

Koh Kong day to dayKoh Kong day to day

What more can there be? Oh. Going back to Hanoi. We may go in June. And then another day by day will start and others finish. That’s the way of it all you know.

The message? If you are tired of your day to day. Bail. Find some you can hold on to.

Up next getting my words back Since deciding to return to writing on blot we returned from Koh Rong island after three days. What we did there was nothing. Sat at beach. Went days of ups and downs
Latest posts reading along moments that come this journal thing going to Phnom Penh family cafe times it’s my job days of ups and downs day by day is the way getting my words back testing again welcome back to blot