Mikes Places |||

family cafe times

One of the place I go for coffee is a nice walk from the house. It’s outdoors with lots of chairs and tables. It’s very serene and peaceful. Easy to find a place and they know what I like.

family cafe timefamily cafe time

Finding regular places that know I like to sit awhile. Sip at the iced Americano and not be bothered with more is best. Today the owner stopped and talked awhile. He speaks really good English and we talked weather and coffee and his charity work. It turns out 10% of coffee sales go to food for kids. Every Tuesday and Friday about 60 local children show up for food.

It’s how an entrepreneur made a difference that makes a difference. Food in the tummy. I told him I Ioved the mission and how he does it.

next up

After being here through writing here and there and reading I go. I gave up on pedometers. Every one wants some goal. I am not interested in goals any more. I want the doing of it. What a yoga instructor called the practice. First I stopped timing yoga and meditation. Now I do what feels good each day. Waking was harder because we are so used to step counting. But it does not matter. Whether I walk 8k steps or 10. What does matter is how I feel inside.

From the morning coffee to reading to wanting only to do the things as a practice. Each thing seems to have a way of it. It’s taken decades to get away from the incipient desire we all have to track and manage things. We simply want control. It takes a lifetime to get away from it. To simply say,

enough

This morning over coffee I remember all the times when I wanted to manage a process. An outcome. A way of doing things. The things not so important. It was finishing them with some timer sounding a gong on finishing. I think we all deep inside love that sound.

Deleting the timer deletes the gong. Now I do things for the doing of them. The practice. Not the outcome.

Perhaps it’s why I know time is not important. Because time is used to control outcomes.

Give it some thought when you do the things you love. Why? For the doing or the outcome.

Up next it’s my job going to Phnom Penh
Latest posts this leaking roof coming home it was with Thursday words and wisdom today I see my daughter in law Monday before Saturday Walking Friday follies our thursday Wednesday morning writing not a move in sight getting the weather reading along moments that come this journal thing going to Phnom Penh family cafe times it’s my job days of ups and downs day by day is the way getting my words back testing again welcome back to blot