Mikes Places |||

getting the weather

It’s said Cambodia has hot and hot and rainy weather. We finished up with the hot part and now edging toward rainy season. Where we live it’s a long season stretching from June to October. At the start usually mornings are gorgeous but evenings will have downpours. By the last month or so it just rains. Temperatures drop a few degrees. Sometimes it pauses for days.

In an interesting twist at the height of hot season cambodians will wear sweat tops, long pants, warm caps. I admit to not understanding. Perhaps they don’t want the Khmer sun touching their bodies. Or it is fashion sense of which I have none.

Most barang people wear t shirts and shorts year round here. My wife wears the longer stuff even though her skin is dark brown. I tease her about it. Offer to buy her a new hoodie. She threatens to buy me nice t shirts. I like these cheap ones made here. Light and easy. She had gone to this market last night and I feared she would buy me more shorts to wear.

I’m not big on clothes. She thinks always I need something. But it’s the weather here that orders what I wear. So I carry forward.

Some Buddhist temples want more modest clothing but none have refused me entrance. There are some nice temples here BTW. If I were visiting I’d rent a tuktuk for a day and tell driver to take me to see downtown Buddhist temples. Won’t be disappointed.

templetemple

See!

Ok soon out to enjoy the slowly turning hot day walking with a suitable break for iced Americano.

See ya.

Up next reading along not a move in sight
Latest posts this leaking roof coming home it was with Thursday words and wisdom today I see my daughter in law Monday before Saturday Walking Friday follies our thursday Wednesday morning writing not a move in sight getting the weather reading along moments that come this journal thing going to Phnom Penh family cafe times it’s my job days of ups and downs day by day is the way getting my words back testing again welcome back to blot